On October 24, the 2021 Sharon Enkin Plays for Young People Award was presented to Michaela Washburn, Joelle Peters, and Carrie Costello for Frozen River

The Sharon Enkin Plays for Young People Award is given annually to a member of the Playwrights Guild of Canada who has a new or recently premiered theatre for young audiences play.

MTYP has really enjoyed working with the incredible artists who co-wrote Frozen River. We believe this work deserves an opportunity to be shared with live audiences, as it was intended by the playwrights, and so although we were not able to produce the show last season, we look forward to announcing our plans soon about presenting the world premiere of this play to Manitoba audiences.

‘We cannot wait to share this powerful and timely play with Manitoba audiences. Frozen River will make this part of our history accessible to young people and their families,” says Pablo Felices-Luna, MTYP’s artistic director.

Read more about Frozen River and the incredible co-playwrights in this Winnipeg Free Press article.


Frozen River playwrights, clockwise from left: Michaela Washburn, Joelle Peters and Carrie Costello.