Awards Won

Recognition for MTYP and MTYP Founding Artistic Director Leslee Silverman


Leslee Silverman is awarded the Governor General's Award for Performing Arts, the highest honour of its kind in Canada.



The Canadian Network for Arts and Learning honours "The remarkable and enduring contribution of Manitoba Theatre for Young People and Artistic Director Leslee Silverman to the cultural life of young people in Manitoba and across Canada."

The Manitoba Human Rights Commission, the Canadian Human Rights Commission and the Manitoba Association for Rights and Liberties present the 2010 Human Rights Committment Award to Manitoba Theatre for Young People for "the achievement of promoting human rights and social transformation for almost 30 years."



Comet in Moominland receives a Dora Mavor Moore Award for Outstanding Production in the Theatre for Young Audiences Division.




Leslee Silverman is named an Honourary Member of the Association for Canadian Theatre Research (ACTR) at their annual national conference.




Leslee Silverman is the first recipient of The Manitoba Arts Council Arts Award of Distinction, recognizing "the highest level of artistic excellence and distinguished career achievements by a professional Manitoba artist."

Leslee Silverman awarded the Certificate of Appreciation from the City of Winnipeg.




Leslee Silverman receives the YWCA Woman of Distinction Award in the Arts and Culture category for "her significant contribution to the well-being our community"




MTYP's production of Old Friends, created in collaboration with Ronnie Burkett Theatre of Marionettes, receives a Chalmers Award.




MTYP's production of Comet in Moominland, based on the books by Tove Jansson, nominated for the prestigious Chalmers Award.




MTYP is the first English theatre to win the Canadian Institute of the Arts for Young Audiences Award for its production of Comet in Moominland, based on the books by Tove Jansson.





MTYP Artistic Director Leslee Silverman awarded the 125th Commemorative Medal, as part of Canada’s 125th Anniversary celebrations.